506 – Selection

This weeks image uses concepts from the reading that deal with enhancing selection for the learner. The image I created uses a plain white background and a grey world map, which minimizes distraction to the viewer and forces the eye to the figure; the process of micro-financing. I also used colour to coordinate and combine images in the mind of the reader. I have mentioned in previous posts how it has been interesting finding theory behind designing images that for some people are intuitive. I think before reading this chapter I have unconsciously used this concepts of minimizing distraction and reducing cognitive load in most of my images thus far. I tend to subscribe to the “less is more” school of thought, and usually try to reduce much of my work down to what is truly needed; not just in graphic design, but also in my teaching and writing. In designing instruction I carefully consider each element to make sure it is integral to the overall objects…if in doubt leave it out! This is a difficult concept for early writers who like to throw as much information at a topic as possible in a desperate attempt to cover the topic.

This is my favorite image I have designed in this course so far. Out of all of them, I think this one is the most effective in its simplicity, colour design and message.

References:

For a complete list of references please link to:

http://edtech2.boisestate.edu/barryjanzen/502/figure-ground.html

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

